Ten-digit dialing will become mandatory this fall. Wondering what this means for you?

What is 10-digit dialing?

All calls will require you to dial the area code + telephone number.

Who will be affected?

Anyone with a telephone number from the 830 area code.

When does it start?

Ten-digit dialing becomes mandatory on Oct. 24, 2021. From that day on, any calls dialed using seven digits will not be completed, and a recording will play informing you that your call cannot be completed as dialed.

How can you prepare?

Start dialing 10 digits now to get into the habit, and by the time the change is required, it will be second nature.

Any equipment that is programmed to dial out — for example fax machines, security systems, medical monitoring devices, speed dialers, ll forwarding services, etc. — will need to be reprogrammed to 10 digits.

Also, make sure that anything with your personal contact information on it, like websites, stationery, advertising materials and personal and pet identification tags, is updated to include your area Code.

What won’t change?

  • Your phone number
  • Your coverage area
  • The cost of a call
  • You will continue to dial 1+ area code + telephone number for all long distance calls
  • Dialing three digits to reach Relay Services — 711 and Emergency Services — 911
  • Any 211, 311, 411, 511, 611 or 811 services available in your community can still be reached by dialing their three digit codes
  • The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline can still be reached by dialing 1-800-273-TALK (8255)

For more information about 10-digit dialing, please

District 1B — Ingram call HCTC at 800-292-5457 or visit